How to pray the Via Lucis or Via Crucis at Easter time?

Jasjot Singh

During the Easter season, Catholics usually pray the Via Lucis, a special Via Crucis in whose stations the appearances of the Risen Lord are meditated and celebrated.

The Via Lucis, which means in Latin “Way of Light”, is a pious exercise that is prayed in a special way during the Easter season, which begins with the celebration of the Resurrection of the Lord and ends fifty days later with the Solemnity of Pentecost.

The official press outlet of the Primate Archdiocese of Mexico, Desde la Fe, explained that “just as with the prayer of the Via Crucis we accompany Christ on his way to Calvary”, in the prayer of the Via Lucis “we accompany Jesus on his way of the glory”.

“From Easter Sunday to Pentecost, there were 50 days full of unforgettable events that people close to Jesus lived intensely, and that we remember with each station of the Via Lucis,” he explained.

That is why during the recitation of the Via Lucis “14 stations are traversed with Christ triumphant, from the Resurrection to Pentecost, following the Gospel stories,” he added.

In addition, he specified that the Via Lucis can also be prayed carrying the image of the Risen Christ in procession, “a lighted candle, which represents the light of Our Lord, and the book of the Gospels, open to the narratives of the Resurrection.” The faithful attendees must accompany the procession “with bouquets of flowers, as a sign of life,” he concluded.

Next, we share the steps that Desde la Fe offered to pray the Via Lucis:


At the beginning of each station the following is said:

– Moderator: The Lord has truly risen. Hallelujah.

– Answer: As the Scriptures announced. Hallelujah.

– Moderator: Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.

– Answer: As it was in the beginning, now and always, forever and ever. Amen.


Afterwards, a passage from the Gospel is read at each station and a prayer is said.

1st Station: Christ lives! He has risen! (Matthew 28, 1-7).

2nd Station: The encounter with María Magdalena (John 20, 10-18).

3rd Station: Jesus appears to women (Matthew 28, 8-10).

4th Station: The road to Emmaus (Luke 24, 26-27).

5th Station: The breaking of the Bread (Luke 24, 30-31).

6th Station: The Risen One appears to the disciples (Luke 24, 38-39).

7th Station: The Risen One gives power to forgive sins (John 20, 22-23).

8th Station: The faith of Thomas (John 20, 27-28).

9th Station: Miraculous catch (John 21, 7.11.13).

10th Station: Peter, the guide (John 21, 15).

11th Station: He sent the disciples (Matthew 28, 19-20).

12th Station: Return to the Father (Acts 1, 11).

13th Station: Waiting for the Spirit (Acts 1, 14).

14th Station: The Risen One sends the promised Spirit (Acts 2, 2-4).


After praying the fourteen stations, this prayer is pronounced:

“Lord and our God, source of joy and hope, we have lived with your Son the events of his Resurrection and Ascension until the coming of the Holy Spirit; fill your Church with the Holy Spirit, manifest to the world the treasures of your love, and make us partakers of the eternal resurrection together with you who live and queen forever and ever. Amen”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Next Post

Are you interested in art and looking to renew your spiritual life? Is this course for you

The Catholic apostolic resource portal Catholic Link launched a new virtual course that seeks to help awaken and renew spiritual life through art. Catholic Link pointed out that its new course entitled “Art and Spirituality: Keys to awakening the spiritual gaze through artistic contemplation” seeks to bring people closer to […]

Subscribe US Now